What is a 'Conservation Champion?'

Conservation Champions Logo
In 2011, it was decided to introduce the award of 'EOCA Conservation Champion' to recognise those members that had gone the 'extra mile' in their support for conservation through EOCA.
Celebrating EOCA's Conservation Champions at OutDoor
Celebrating EOCA's Conservation Champions at OutDoor
The Conservation Champion award will be awarded annually at the OutDoor Show in Friedrichshafen, each summer.  It will be awarded to those members who have used creative and innovative ways to fundraise for, or raise awareness of the Association.  The award will look at the efforts of each member individually, and the award will recognise the amount of time and commitment involved, based on the size and manpower of the company in question, rather than specifically the amount raised.

During the infamous OutDoor Party at the OutDoor Show, Friedrichshafen in June 2017, the European Outdoor Conservation Association (EOCA) took to the main stage to announce that they were naming Arc'teryx, Snugpak and Ortlieb as their 2017 Conservation Champions.

In front of thousands of members of the outdoor industry, EOCA Board Members Nick Brown (Nikwax), Jan Lorch (Vaude), Perry Laukens (KEEN) and Edu Uribesalgo (Ternua) awarded the certificates to these three EOCA members who have gone the extra mile in supporting conservation, and led the way in innovative fundraising efforts:

Conservation Champion
Conservation Champion
Arc’teryx approached EOCA during 2016 with an idea for raising additional awareness and funding for the Association. On Cyber Monday in December, Arc’teryx decided to give 5% of all European online sales over €500 to EOCA which raised a significant amount of money for the Association. Since then, Arc’teryx has used the same model to raise further funds on Earth Day in April 2017, and plans to continue to use this model again in the future, raising valuable additional resources to support conservation through EOCA.

Valued and supportive member, Snugpak always contributes to EOCA’s fundraising activities at tradeshows, donating popular items to help generate more income for conservation. In addition, the company regularly nominates conservation projects and then gets very involved in promoting and supporting them during the public vote. This not only increases the chance of these projects getting funding from EOCA, it also raises awareness of all of the projects involved in the vote on an international platform, which provides them with many benefits.

EOCA member for 10 years, Ortlieb has been a consistently active and engaged member of EOCA. Each year, the company makes generous donations of their popular waterproof products to the Conservation Fundraiser, helping to raise more money for EOCA. In addition, the company gets involved in finding projects for EOCA to consider for funding, and takes part in the selection processes. During 2017, Ortlieb decided to make a further contribution to one of the winning projects, which is local to them and will significantly benefit a German river system.

Catherine Savidge, Joint General Manager of EOCA said, “the Conservation Champion Award is about recognising member companies large and small, who benefit conservation through EOCA with creative and forward thinking initiatives. We are proud to work with these three companies, each of which are passionate about the great outdoors and their responsibility towards it.”

Conservation Champions

EOCA Conservation Champion 2018,2018,2019
Eagles Nest Outfitters Eagles Nest Outfitters
EOCA Conservation Champion 2018
Snugpak Ltd Snugpak Ltd
EOCA Conservation Champion 2017, 2017, 2019
Arc'teryx Equipment Inc. Arc'teryx Equipment Inc.
EOCA Conservation Champion 2017
ORTLIEB Sportartikel GmbH ORTLIEB Sportartikel GmbH
EOCA Conservation Champion 2017
VAUDE Sport GmbH & Co KG VAUDE Sport GmbH & Co KG
EOCA Conservation Champion 2015
Klean Kanteen Klean Kanteen
EOCA Conservation Champion 2014, 2014, 2019
333 Media 333 Media
EOCA Conservation Champion 2014
EOCA Conservation Champion 2013,2019,2013,2019
Bergans Fritid AS Bergans Fritid AS
EOCA Conservation Champion 2013
Polartec LLC Polartec LLC
EOCA Conservation Champion 2013
Nikwax Ltd Nikwax Ltd
EOCA Conservation Champion 2012,2012,2019
EOCA Conservation Champion 2012,2011
Patagonia Europe SAS Patagonia Europe SAS
EOCA Conservation Champion 2011,2011,2019
If you are an individual who loves the great outdoors and would like to support our projects, please click the donate button below.
The funding is enabling us to repair a damaged section of the iconic Three Peaks long distance footpath and restore an area of internationally important upland habitat. Voting for our project was a simple but highly effective way for our supporters to show how strongly they felt about improving access and protecting the landscape of this wonderful area. Thank you, EOCA!
Don Gamble, Yorkshire Dales Millenium Trust